Delegate Kathleen Dumais

Democrat, Maryland House of Delegates District 15

Busch Taps New Chairs for Judiciary, Ways & Means

Montgomery County Gains Leadership Spots

Gazette.Net, December 31, 2010, by Alan Brody

Two House of Delegates committees will have new vice chairmen in 2011, House Speaker Michael E. Busch announced Wednesday with the release of committee assignments for the upcoming legislative session.

Del. Samuel I. “Sandy” Rosenberg (D-Dist. 41) of Baltimore will move from vice chair of the Judiciary Committee to second-in-command of the Ways & Means Committee. Del. Kathleen M. Dumais has been tapped as Judiciary’s new vice chair.

Busch (D-Dist. 30) of Annapolis also named Del. Brian J. Feldman (D-Dist. 15) of Potomac as the chamber’s parliamentarian and Del. Marvin E. Holmes Jr. (D-Dist. 23B) of Kettering as the new Democratic Caucus chair.

The changes appear to give Montgomery County additional positions in House leadership.

The No. 2 slot on Ways & Means opened up when former Baltimore city Del. Ann Marie Doory stepped down in July to accept an appointment to the State Board of Contract Appeals.

Dumais (D-Dist. 15) of Bethesda previously served as House parliamentarian. Former Democratic Caucus Chair Carolyn J. Krysiak (D-Dist. 46) of Baltimore did not seek re-election.

Also, Del. Anne R. Kaiser (D-Dist. 14) of Burtonsville was elevated to one of two chief deputy Majority Whip positions along with Del. Justin D. Ross (D-Dist. 22) of Hyattsville, who has been in the post since 2007. The other incumbent chief deputy Majority Whip was Del. Sue Kullen (D-Dist. 27B) of Port Republic, who was defeated in the general election.

In the upcoming session, the House Appropriations Committee will have 25 members, Environmental Matters will have 24, Health & Government Operations, Economic Matters and Ways & Means each will have 23, and Judiciary will have 22 members.

The committees are balanced to reflect the demographic, geographic and party makeup of the legislature.

The biggest shake-up will be on Ways & Means, which will have nine new members, including six freshman delegates.

Judiciary will have eight new members, all of whom are freshmen. Seven of the eight new members of Environmental Matters are freshmen, while five of seven new members of Economic Matters are veteran legislators who previously served on other committees.

Comments are closed.